As the start of 2020 approaches, 25 states and a list of local municipalities will raise their minimum wage. Businesses of all sizes in these regions should prepare to update their payroll as the new year draws closer. Annual minimum wage increases are quite common in many parts of the country; many update their wages based on inflation each January 1st on an ongoing basis. But in the past several years, many states have also seen more significant increases due to recent legislation to reflect the modern cost of living. As ordinances slowly raise the minimum wage over the next several years, businesses should keep close attention on the upcoming changes for 2020.
Understanding Minimum Wage
According to a 2017 study by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, 80.4 million workers over 16 years old perform hourly work in the US. With varying minimum wages between federal, state and local levels, how do companies know which one to choose? In short, businesses must pay the highest rate for their area. They must choose the rate that most benefits the employee.
For example, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. If you work in Arkansas, where the minimum wage is $9.25 an hour, a company must side with the state amount. As of 2019, 29 states are above the federal limit, reiterating the importance of paying close attention to state and local laws. Other laws, such as those for tipped employees differ from these numbers as well.
Changes in 2020 Minimum Wages by State
How can you prepare for upcoming pay rate changes at the start of the next calendar year? Begin by researching specific rates and changes over the course of 2020 in your state and district. The Department of Labor website includes each state’s individual webpage, many of which offer a business portal to assist in the transition.
Minimum wage primarily increases in two ways: by annual indexing or due to a recent ordinance. Annual indexing uses the Consumer Price Index (CPI) to set the increase for their state’s rate. No matter the reason, all changes aim to better meet the standard of living for the region and the match inflation.
We’ve divided our guide into easy categories so you can determine if your state’s minimum wage is changing within the next calendar year. States either: do not have minimum wage laws (and thus defer to the federal minimums), will see no changes in 2020, will experience annual indexing or have specifically planned changes for the year.
No minimum wage established (Federal minimum applies)
No changes to minimum wage in 2020
Annual Indexing Increases
Minnesota (Indexing increases for both small and large companies; additional increases for Minneapolis and St. Paul.)
Mandated Hourly Increases on 1/1/2020 (unless otherwise noted)
Increase from $11.00 to $12.00. Additional changes for Flagstaff apply.
Increase from $9.25 to $10.00
Increase from $12.00 to $13.00 for businesses with more than 25 employees, and from $11.00 to $12.00 for those with less than 25. Additional municipality increases apply.
Increase from $11.10 to $12.00.
Increase from $10.10 to $11.00 on 10/1/2019 and then to $12.00 on September 1, 2020.
District of Columbia
Increase from $14.00 to $15.00.
Increase from $11.00 to $12.00.
Increase from $10.10 to $11.00.
Increase from $12.00 to $12.75.
Increase from $9.45 to $9.65.
Increase from $8.60 to $9.45.
Rates will rise 75 cents on 1/1/20; companies that offer benefits will increase from $7.25 to $8.00 and those who do not will increase from $8.25 to $9.00.
Increase from $10.00 to $11.00 or to the greater of annual indexing. Companies under 6 employees will increase to the greater of annual indexing or $10.30.
Increase from $7.50 to $9.00. Additional increases for Albuquerque, Bernalillo County, Las Cruces, City of Santa Fe and Santa Fe County.
New York State wages (outside of NYC) will increase from $11.80 to $12.50; Long Island and Westchester will increase from $13.00 to $14.00; and all NYC employees, regardless of company size, will increase to $15.00.
Portland metropolitan wages increase on July 1, 2020, from $12.50 to $13.25; Non-Urban Counties, $11.00 to $11.50; All other employees, $11.25 to $12.00.
Increase from $12.00 to $13.50. Additional increases for Sea-Tac, Seattle and Tacoma.
During any time of transition, HR departments should take the time to re-evaluate their payroll to plan for a smooth transition. If you employ hourly workers, verify whether their rate will increase in the upcoming year for your area. This is especially important if you conduct business across multiple states. Work with a professional Payroll Solutions team to simplify all changes to labor and tax laws or seek additional HR support to advise on big decisions along the way.
We have a page that is frequently updated with all the minimum wages in each state. Bookmark it so you can visit it whenever you have a question! Check it out here >>>